findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

, male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 295 times
  since Apr 2022
  last sign in 27 Jun 2024
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Boat profile to see the % match or to contact this Crew member.
Recommendations 0 received, 1 provided

Availability ready now

Embark (Boarding)
ready now to embark anytime
Duration
for any duration
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 My current location where I'm in person
Canada - British Columbia - visible to Boat members only
your vessel's specified boarding location is around ? away from this location
 Boarding location
Canada
and the Boat is preferably within British Columbia
your vessel's boarding location is ? within this Crew member's boarding area
Destinations I'm interested in
anywhere
 Home location usual 'Place of residence'
Canada - British Columbia - visible to Boat members only

Personal details

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages
speaks native English
fluent Dutch
competent French
Nationality
Dutch
Gender
male
Age
visible to Free & Premium members only
Civil Status
Married
Children
2 children, both over 18 years of age
Height
186 cm / 6' 1"
Weight
80-85 kg / 176-187 lb

Countries

Countries I've resided in
Canada Netherlands
Countries I've visited (17)
Austria Barbados Belgium Dominican Republic France Germany Italy Luxembourg Mexico Montenegro Portugal Spain Sweden Switzerland Tunisia United Kingdom United States

Lifestyle

Eating
I prefer an unrestricted diet and I'm fine with any or no specific diet aboard
Drinking
I only drink socially and I'm fine with any or no drinking aboard
Smoking
I'm a strict non-smoker and I prefer vessels with no smoking aboard

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
spent at least 4 weeks at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
logged at least 500 nm at sea

Maritime Qualifications & Certificates

Qualifications / Certifications
none

Boat wanted

Journey
any
Vessel main propulsion
any
Vessel hull type
preferably monohull
Vessel length
preferably over 12.2 metres (40 ft) in length
Crew & guests aboard
any

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions of interest
preferably for
 Crew   no experience
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid

Shorebased    working or training from or based on a shore or land

positions of interest
preferably for
 Shorebased: Day work   no experience
paid
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew is looking for paid work

Team

Team status
Just me, I'm not bringing any crewmates

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

I used to spend my free time windsurfing and sailing on smaller vessels, wind and water were always my favourite pastimes. We all have key moments, memories, and forks in life where you need to choose a direction, after which you just keep going. Mine happened at 18 when I was offered a job to crew and learn &...
;) I continued college, university, and then work...
After doing 9-5, having a small family, owning & renovating houses, starting my own business in graphics & photography, and having seen my kids "grow up" (okay they're in University... Do they/we ever grow up? ).
A recent sailing/crewing trip from Porto to Ibiza has confirmed that I really enjoy days on the water.

A little about myself, my interests and my plans

clean & tidycommittedeasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfultrustworthyconfident swimmergood listenergood communicatorno facial piercingstravel light (little luggage)eager to learn & workpoliteperfectionistpositive outlooksense of humoravailable on my ownenjoy cookingdon't mind cleaninggood with maintenancecan follow ordersbuy my own boat one day

I am a bit of a jack of all trades and a master of none. I enjoy learning, getting my hands dirty and helping out. I do extremely well in teams with goals. I take my tasks and responsibilities seriously. I have a light and positive outlook on things. I am supportive and very helpful when the need arises. I am social and communicate well in smaller groups, though I will be the quiet one in a large gathering. I do not enjoy people that whine & complain or people that are messy and need to be picked up after.

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat

share experienceseek adventurefulfill a dreamface challengescareer changeearn moneygain experiencelearn to sailsustainable traveltravel

Larger, liveaboard vessels, and long passages are new to me. I have some sailing experience with smaller ships with friends and family but nothing to make me stand out. I want to learn about the different boats, situations, and experience life on them while seeing places and connecting with people.
I have taken the RYA crewing classes to become a more useful crew member. Have no illusions or intentions to come out of the gates running, I am on a journey to help and learn.
All that said; I am a pretty quick learner and I truly enjoy being useful. Being onboard following instructions and directions is the best way for me to learn and I intend to make the best of it. Making friends and learning about the world in general, is a given.

Recommendations

0 Recommendations received for this member

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment
50 days, 2022 Aug2022 Oct
visible to Free & Premium members only