findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

, male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 519 times
  since Apr 2021
  last sign in 9 hours ago
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Boat profile to see the % match or to contact this Crew member.
Recommendations 2 received, 1 provided

Availability ready now

Embark (Boarding)
ready now to embark anytime
Duration
for any duration
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 My current location where I'm in person
Spain - Madrid - visible to Boat members only
your vessel's specified boarding location is around ? away from this location
 Boarding location
Spain
and the Boat is preferably within Spain
your vessel's boarding location is ? within this Crew member's boarding area
Destinations I'm interested in
preferably within Portugal
 Home location usual 'Place of residence'
Spain - Madrid - visible to Boat members only

Personal details

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages
speaks native Portuguese
fluent Spanish, English
elementary French
Nationality
Portuguese
Gender
male
Age
visible to Free & Premium members only
Civil Status
Single
Children
none
Height
175 cm / 5' 9"
Weight
65-70 kg / 143-154 lb

Countries

Countries I've resided in
Colombia Greece Portugal Spain
Countries I've visited (13)
Albania Andorra Cabo Verde Dominican Republic Ecuador France Germany Italy Martinique Morocco Tunisia United Kingdom United States

Lifestyle

Eating
I eat any available diet and I'm fine with any or no specific diet aboard
Drinking
I drink moderately and I'm fine with any or no drinking aboard
Smoking
I'm generally a non-smoker and I'm fine with any or no smoking aboard

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
spent at least 3 months at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
logged at least 5,000 nm at sea

Maritime Qualifications & Certificates

Qualifications / Certifications
none

Boat wanted

Journey
any
Vessel main propulsion
any
Vessel hull type
any
Vessel length
any length
Crew & guests aboard
any

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions of interest
preferably for
 Crew   some experience
 Nanny / Childcare   experienced
 Teacher / Tutor   experienced
 Deckhand   some experience
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid
contribute
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew to pay an agreed share towards some expenses

Team

Team status
Just me, I'm not bringing any crewmates

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

Hello There, I am Gustavo from Portugal. I am a fun (or someone tricked me into thinking that), sea loving and hardworking person looking to learn more about sailing and meeting new people with interesting stories and life experiences.

I speak Portuguese, English and Spanish fluently and also a little French. I have worked and traveled through several countries (as a teacher but doing other things as well) and I am driven by the desire to have new experiences and learn more and more. I have always lived close to the sea (until recently that I am stuck more inland in Madrid).

I spent 6 weeks as a volunteer aboard the tall ship Galeón Andalucia, where I learned not only about sailing and general nautical aspects but a bit of everything like aspects of maintenance, navigation and communication systems, preparation for emergency situations, cooking, cleaning, night and security watches, piloting etc. We went from Calais in the north of France, down to the Cantabrian Sea and then around Galicia and Portugal into the Mediterranean coast of Spain. The longest nonstop sail was 7 days.

I then sailed from La Línea de la Concepción in Spain to Lanzarote in the Canaries with a family which took us about 5 days and was great experience as crew on a more standard sailing boat.

I did the Atlantic crossing East to West, from Cape Verde to Martinique, a much longer crossing which proved challenging but where I consolidated a lot of previous learning and some more. After that, I sailed again as a crew from Barbate in Spain to Tunisia, with a stop over in Sardinia a fun but active crossing that took us about 10 days in total.

I have a lot more to learn still but I believe I can be a very helpful deckhand and a great addition to your crew.

A little about myself, my interests and my plans

clean & tidycommitteddiligenteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfultrustworthyconfident swimmerrarely/unlikely seasickgood listenergood communicatorno body piercingsno facial piercingstravel light (little luggage)eager to learn & workpoliteLGBTIQA+ respectfulperfectionistpositive outlookopen mindedsense of humoravailable on my owndon't mind cleaningcan follow ordersenjoy teachinginterpretingbuy my own boat one daylearn a language

I consider myself a very respectful and organized person but who definitely doesn't have a hard time finding fun in life and remaining positive even in hard situations. I love learning languages and traveling and I am also passionate about History. I have lived in Greece, Colombia, Spain and Portugal which has allowed me to have great and challenging experiences of different kinds.

I believe cooperation and understanding are the keys for a better society whether at sea or inland, and improving our surroundings and community is definitely a pillar objective in my life. I love to chat and share but I am also very considerate of other peoples space.

My plans are for now to learn more about sailing, travel a bit then head home and repeat. Other than that my plan is to pursue a career in teaching which is one of my great passions.

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat

share experiencevisit remote placesseek adventureface challengesgain experiencelearn to sailtravel

My motivation to crew is to learn more, become more experienced and live adventures. Theres no better way of learning than by doing.

Recommendations

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
1
amazing & welcoming person
1
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment

2022 May 05

From

9 days, 2022 Apr2022 Apr
visible to Free & Premium members only

2021 Nov 18

From

11 days, 2021 Oct2021 Nov
visible to Free & Premium members only

9 days, 2022 Apr2022 Apr
visible to Free & Premium members only