findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

, male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 429 times
  since Jul 2017
  last sign in 46 minutes ago
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Boat profile to see the % match or to contact this Crew member.
Recommendations 0 received, 0 provided

Availability ready now

Embark (Boarding)
ready now to embark anytime
Duration
preferably for at least 1 week and for less than 6 months
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 My current location where I'm in person
United States - Arizona - visible to Boat members only
your vessel's specified boarding location is around ? away from this location
 Boarding location
anywhere
your vessel's boarding location is ? within this Crew member's boarding area
Destinations I'm interested in
preferably within North Atlantic , Europe or Caribbean
 Home location usual 'Place of residence'
United States - Arizona - visible to Boat members only

Personal details

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages
speaks native English
Nationality
US American
Gender
male
Age
visible to Free & Premium members only
Civil Status
Married
Children
not specified
Height
not specified
Weight
may tell you later

Countries

Countries I've resided in
United States
Countries I've visited (22)
Antigua & Barbuda Argentina Australia Bahamas Canada Dominica France Germany Greece Guadeloupe Iceland Italy Japan South Korea Martinique Mexico Peru Russia Saint Lucia Spain Sweden United Kingdom

Lifestyle

Eating
I eat any available diet and I'm fine with any or no specific diet aboard
Drinking
I only drink socially and I'm fine with any or no drinking aboard
Smoking
I'm a strict non-smoker and I'm only boarding vessels with strictly no smoking aboard

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
spent at least 1.2 months at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
logged at least 5,000 nm at sea

Maritime Qualifications & Certificates

Qualifications / Certifications
none

Boat wanted

Journey
any
Vessel main propulsion
preferably sail
Vessel hull type
any
Vessel length
preferably over 10 metres (33 ft) in length
Crew & guests aboard
preferably has at least 2 people aboard

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions of interest
preferably for
 Crew   experienced
 Competent Crew   experienced
 Teacher / Tutor   experienced
 Deckhand   experienced
 Navigator   experienced
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid
contribute
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew to pay an agreed share towards some expenses

Professional    paid positions, experience and/or qualifications are usually required

positions of interest
preferably for
 Crew   experienced
 Delivery Crew   experienced
 Navigator   experienced
paid
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew is looking for paid work

Team

Team status
Just me, I'm not bringing any crewmates

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

I am retired biologist in excellent health looking to crew on passages in North America, the Caribbean or the Mediterranean. I am available for longer passages, including transatlantic between US, Caribbean, Canary or Azores and/or Europe after September 1, 2024.

A little about myself, my interests and my plans

clean & tidycommitteddiligentdiscreeteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfulskilledtrustworthyconfident swimmerrarely/unlikely seasickgood listenergood communicatorno body piercingsno facial piercingsno tattoos at alltravel light (little luggage)eager to learn & workpoliteLGBTIQA+ respectfulpositive outlookopen mindedsense of humoravailable on my owndon't mind cleaninggood with maintenancecan follow ordersenjoy teachinglive on little money

I am a former boat owner (Pearson-38 and Island Packet-32) who took up sailing in my 50s. I spent most of my professional career as a research scientist, toiling away in a windowless laboratory. Prior to sailing, my major diversion from work was hiking and backpacking. I enjoy all things nautical and astronomical, and I have recently taught myself celestial navigation. I am familiar with navigation and the operation and installation of electronic, mechanical and electrical equipment commonly used on boats. I have no set plans, other than living in the moment and sailing as much as possible. My wife and I lived on our boat for two summers in Olympia, WA and for four summers in San Diego. We moved our boat from San Diego to La Paz in 2020 and lived aboard our boat in La Paz for three winters. We sold our vessel in 2023, because of that great sailing-life killer - grandkids. My wife is finished with sailing, however, I would like to continue ocean sailing via crew opportunities.

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat

share experiencevisit remote placesseek adventuregain experiencesustainable traveltravel

I have owned and maintained two cruising boats, a Pearson 38 and an Island Packet 32, as well as several trailer sailors. I enjoy all things nautical and sail whenever possible. I always learn something new when I crew on other people's boats, making me a better sailor. Plus, I like to be out on the ocean, discussing the meaning of life with new people. I have taken on crew on my boat and have served as crew on other people's boats. As a result, I understand the challenges of co-existing in a small, confined space and the need for flexibility in all aspects of life on board.

Recommendations

0 Recommendations received for this member

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment

0 Recommendations provided by this member