findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

, male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 503 times
  since Mar 2017
  last sign in 1 day ago
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Boat profile to see the % match or to contact this Crew member.
Recommendations 0 received, 0 provided

Availability after the 9 Sep 2024

Embark (Boarding)
must embark after the 9 Sep 2024
Duration
preferably for at least 3 days and for any duration onwards
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 My current location where I'm in person
United States - Maryland - visible to Boat members only
your vessel's specified boarding location is around ? away from this location
 Boarding location
anywhere
your vessel's boarding location is ? within this Crew member's boarding area
Destinations I'm interested in
anywhere
 Home location usual 'Place of residence'
United States - Maryland - visible to Boat members only

Personal details

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages
speaks native English
elementary Spanish
learning Vietnamese
Nationality
US American
Gender
male
Age
visible to Free & Premium members only
Civil Status
Married
Children
2 children, both over 18 years of age
Height
187 cm / 6' 2"
Weight
80-85 kg / 176-187 lb

Countries

Countries I've resided in
United States
Countries I've visited (21)
Anguilla Argentina Bahamas Belgium British Virgin Islands Cambodia Caribbean Netherlands Chile Costa Rica Dominica El Salvador France Iceland Ireland Isle of Man Jamaica Mexico Netherlands Spain United Kingdom Vietnam

Lifestyle

Eating
I eat any available diet and I'm fine with any or no specific diet aboard
Drinking
I drink moderately and I'm fine with any or no drinking aboard
Smoking
I'm a strict non-smoker and I'm only boarding vessels with strictly no smoking aboard

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
spent at least 5 months at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
logged at least 5,000 nm at sea

Maritime Qualifications & Certificates

issued or renewed before 2019
Issued or renewed
2017 Jan
Accredited by
ASA American Sailing Association
Issued or renewed
2017 Jan
Accredited by
ASA American Sailing Association
Issued or renewed
2017 Jan
Accredited by
ASA American Sailing Association
Issued or renewed
2003 Oct
Accredited by
PADI Professional Association of Diving Instructors

Boat wanted

Journey
any
Vessel main propulsion
only sail
Vessel hull type
preferably monohull
Vessel length
preferably between 12 metres (39 ft) to 25 metres (82 ft) in length
Crew & guests aboard
any

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions of interest
preferably for
 Crew   experienced
 Competent Crew   experienced
 Diver   experienced and qualified
 Photographer   experienced
 Watch-keeper   experienced
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid
contribute
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew to pay an agreed share towards some expenses

Team

Team status
Just me, I'm not bringing any crewmates

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

I've had our 1988 Bristol 53.3 since October 2017, and have been learning the ropes and working on the refit since then. Significant upgrades throughout the boat, and significant learning along the way!

Three times around Cape Hatteras, plenty of Chesapeake Bay cruising, and in the summer of 2021 sailed her to Maine and back, winter of 2023 was spent in the Bahamas. Presently lying in Brunswick GA, planning the next couple years....

Looking for opportunities to build miles and passaging experience - the boat is well handled by two, however I'm only one... and since I have had some but not lots and lots of passaging experience, I think I might be better served gaining experience with someone who has more than I before I think about putting together a new crew and heading out.

I'm easy-going, completely modest about my great sense of humor, a bit wacky, but mostly I'm eager to learn and LOVE meeting new people and new places. If you take a chance on me, I'm sure you won't regret it! Or, you'll regret it A LOT, but there's no way to find out without trying! Looking for 2-3 days at a time to weeks or so on passages to gain experience. Willing to cook (love to cook) and clean (don't love to clean but I get it). Willing to help with repairs within my capabilities (I'm very handy with DC electrical systems, have a good knowledge of how to keep the diesel running, and have been replacing hoses and servicing pumps and windlasses and winches and thru-hulls, things like that on our boat since we got her...).

A little about myself, my interests and my plans

diligentdiscreeteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyrespectfulskilledtrustworthyconfident swimmerrarely/unlikely seasickgood listenergood communicatorno facial piercingsvisible tattoostravel light (little luggage)eager to learn & workpoliteLGBTIQA+ respectfulpositive outlookopen mindedsense of humorcan pay own expensesavailable on my ownready to partyenjoy cookingdon't mind cleaninggood with maintenancecan follow ordersenjoy teachinglearn a language

*UPDATE: Really looking for 1 week to 3 months or longer stints crewing somewhere sometime after the end of June 2024 timeframe, to gain more experience. Can be flexible as to dates and duration, and of course can contribute appropriately. Thanks! When not sailing or dreaming of sailing, I'm taking pictures, kayaking, gardening, backpacking, and when I cannot think of anything else to do... "working". UGH!

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat

share experiencevisit remote placesseek adventurefulfill a dreamface challengesfind a soulmate/partnerfinding myselfgain experiencerunning awaysustainable traveltravel

Recommendations

0 Recommendations received for this member

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment

0 Recommendations provided by this member