findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

, male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 3,321 times
  since Apr 2014
  last sign in 1 day ago
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Boat profile to see the % match or to contact this Crew member.
Recommendations 0 received, 0 provided
usually replies within 16 hours

Availability ready now

Embark (Boarding)
ready now to embark anytime
Duration
preferably for at least 1 week and for less than 2 years
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 My current location where I'm in person
United States - Florida - visible to Boat members only
your vessel's specified boarding location is around ? away from this location
 Boarding location
United States - same as my current location
and the Boat is preferably within 1,000 nm • 1,852 km • 1,151 mi
your vessel's boarding location is ? within this Crew member's boarding area
Destinations I'm interested in
preferably within North America, Caribbean or South Pacific
 Home location usual 'Place of residence'
United States - Florida - visible to Boat members only

Personal details

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages
speaks native English
fluent French
elementary German
Nationality
US American
Gender
male
Age
visible to Free & Premium members only
Civil Status
Married
Children
4 children, all over 18 years of age
Height
171 cm / 5' 7"
Weight
60-65 kg / 132-143 lb

Countries

Countries I've resided in
Belgium France United States
Countries I've visited (14)
Bahamas Denmark Egypt Germany Greece Israel Italy Japan Luxembourg Mexico Spain Sweden Syria United Kingdom

Lifestyle

Eating
I eat any available diet and I'm fine with any or no specific diet aboard
Drinking
I drink moderately and I'm fine with any or no drinking aboard
Smoking
I'm a strict non-smoker and I'm fine with any or no smoking aboard

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
spent at least 10 years at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
logged at least 10,000 nm at sea

Maritime Qualifications & Certificates

issued or renewed before 2019

Boat wanted

Journey
any, delivery, passage: Atlantic, passage: Pacific or round the world
Vessel main propulsion
only sail
Vessel hull type
preferably monohull
Vessel length
preferably between 12.2 metres (40 ft) to 28 metres (92 ft) in length
Crew & guests aboard
preferably has less than 6 people aboard

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions of interest
preferably for
 Watch-keeper   experienced and qualified
 Navigator   experienced
 1st Mate / Officer   experienced
 Competent Crew   experienced and qualified
 Delivery Crew   experienced and qualified
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid
contribute
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew to pay an agreed share towards some expenses

Team

Team status
Just me, I'm not bringing any crewmates

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

Greetings. My name is Mike, and I welcome the opportunity to share the sea and wind with just about anyone.

A little about myself, my interests and my plans

clean & tidycommitteddiligentdiscreeteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfulskilledtrustworthyconfident swimmerrarely/unlikely seasickgood listenerno body piercingsno facial piercingsno tattoos at alltravel light (little luggage)eager to learn & workpoliteLGBTIQA+ respectfulpositive outlookopen mindedsense of humorcan pay own expensesavailable on my owndon't mind cleaninggood with maintenancecan follow ordersenjoy teachinginterpretingbuy my own boat one daylive on little money

I have been on the water for over 50 years and sailed just about anything with a mast up to 50 feet LOA. On the way I earned the rank of quartermaster in the Sea Explorers. I have rigged and jury rigged dozens of boats, am reasonably good with electronics, but have limited experience with with engines. As for sailing, I love the helm, very good at sail trimming and do navigation in my sleep. Before closing, I admit that I grew up racing so it has been somewhat difficult to relax and cruise - but I am learning. I have nearly 10,000 nautical miles of offshore experience now and looking to add more. Hit me up.

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat

share experiencevisit remote placesseek adventurefulfill a dreamface challengesgain experiencelive off the gridsustainable traveltravel

I have been sailing since age 10 and still not cured. I have salt in my veins and need to sail whenever wherever I can. Nuff said.

Recommendations

0 Recommendations received for this member

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment

0 Recommendations provided by this member