findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

, female
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 6,634 times
  since May 2010
  last sign in 17 hours ago
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Boat profile to see the % match or to contact this Crew member.
Recommendations 0 received, 0 provided
usually replies within 6 days

Availability ready now

Embark (Boarding)
ready now and preferably embark before the 1 Sep 2024
Duration
preferably for at least 2 weeks and for less than 3 weeks
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 My current location where I'm in person
Spain - País Vasco - visible to Boat members only
your vessel's specified boarding location is around ? away from this location
 Boarding location
Spain
and the Boat is preferably within Spain
your vessel's boarding location is ? within this Crew member's boarding area
Destinations I'm interested in
preferably within Italy, Greece, France, Spain or Croatia
 Home location usual 'Place of residence'
Costa Rica - Limón - visible to Boat members only

Personal details

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages
speaks native Spanish
fluent English, Portuguese
Nationality
Spanish
Gender
female
Age
visible to Free & Premium members only
Civil Status
Divorced
Children
2 children, 1 under 18 years of age
Height
165 cm / 5' 5"
Weight
50-55 kg / 110-121 lb

Countries

Countries I've resided in (12)
Brazil Chile Costa Rica Guatemala Honduras Indonesia Malaysia Mexico Nicaragua Spain Thailand United Kingdom
Countries I've visited (23)
Argentina Austria Belgium Bolivia Cambodia Costa Rica Czech Republic France Germany Greece Hungary India Ireland Italy Morocco Netherlands Panama Peru Portugal Switzerland Türkiye United States Vietnam

Lifestyle

Eating
I eat any available diet and I'm fine with any or no specific diet aboard
Drinking
I only drink socially and I'm fine with any or no drinking aboard
Smoking
I'm a strict non-smoker and I'm fine with any or no smoking aboard

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
spent at least 6 months at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
logged at least 500 nm at sea

Maritime Qualifications & Certificates

issued or renewed before 2019
Issued or renewed
2001 Feb
Expiry
2028 Mar
Accredited by
PADI Professional Association of Diving Instructors

Boat wanted

Journey
any
Vessel main propulsion
preferably sail
Vessel hull type
any
Vessel length
any length
Crew & guests aboard
any

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions of interest
preferably for
 Crew   experienced
 Diver   experienced and qualified
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid
contribute
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew to pay an agreed share towards some expenses

Team

Team status
Just me, I'm not bringing any crewmates

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

I am a Spaniard living overseas for the last 27 years. I moved to Costa Rica 5 years ago after 17 years in Guatemala, mainly because of wanting to live by the Ocean. I love my life in the jungle by the Ocean, and love doing little escapes at sea either in Central America for the most part of the year, or in the Mediterranean during the European summer, Mother of two, entrepreneur, adventurer, I am eager to learn. I have engaged in many adventures at sea though findacrew and have always had great experiences.

A little about myself, my interests and my plans

clean & tidydiligentdiscreeteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfulskilledtrustworthyconfident swimmerrarely/unlikely seasickgood listenergood communicatorno body piercingseager to learn & workpoliteopen mindedsense of humorcan pay own expensesenjoy cookingdon't mind cleaningcan follow ordersinterpretingwish to bring a friend

I spent some years working in different countries in South America before deciding I wanted to live life in a different way, outside the box, closer to nature and making every day an adventure. I traveled for several years across South East Asia and India, stopping here and there to work as a dive instructor. I then came back to Latin America, spending some time working as an underwater videographer in Mexico, Nicaragua and Honduras to finally start my own business in Lake Atitlan, Guatemala; an ecological hotel and retreat center that I eventually sold. I went on to build yet another Retreat space in Guatemala, and moved to Costa Rica to build further sustainable housing in the jungle. By now I am a bit disappointed with the whole lack of actual sustainability of Costa Rica, mainly due to having witnessed innumerable forest chopping in the name of eco-tourism... so I am now sitting in my jungle with my monkey and tree friends, and switching back to build some epic sustainable structures back in Guate. So it's the back and forth game again, which I love. I am also back to doing epic adventures every couple of months now that the kids are older and more resilient to their mother´s madness!

I love cooking, -crafted a Slow food restaurant back in the day where we were cooking everything from scratch-. I have extensive experience living on boats.

I spend my free time swimming, free diving, paddling, horse riding, walking for hours in the jungle, doing yoga, or meditating in nature. The rest of the time I am running around managing my retreat in Guatemala or devising eccentric sustainable housing in remote locations. Sustainability, eco-nonradicalism and philosophical spiraling conversations are some of my passions. Escaping the masses has become a way of life, even though I deeply enjoy smart humanity.

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat

have a holidayshare experienceshare charter costsvisit remote placesseek adventurelearn to saillive off the gridsustainable traveltravel

I love it at sea, love the thrill of being pulled by the wind across the ocean, love marine mammals, and marine everything really, love it when the depths call me and everything stops and one can only hear one´s own heart. Love how the Ocean allows us to get away from the madness and into our very own personal madness, which is a least known territory Have been on sailing boats for decades but have not mastered sailing; I just do not feel I was gifted with an eye to put sail and wind together in a practical manner...but I am really good at following orders from somebody that does have a gift for it! I have done several sailing courses -including coastal captain in Spain-... still not a gifted student!

Some 20 years ago I run a small business in a trimaran sailing from Rio Dulce to Belize for some time, I was the business mind, host, cook and dive instructor. I have also gone in several sail trips through this site, mainly for a month each, and also sail with friends for a weeks a number of times.

I am not picky and consider myself social and easy going. Feel at ease with a simple life style, having time to enjoy the sea, nature at its wildest and good conversation. I am passionate about diving, snorkeling, kayaking and swimming, being in the water keeps me happy. I am also addicted to forests, adventure and traveling.

I am a pretty good cook. Having been a hotel and restaurant owner in a really remote part of the world I know how to plan meals, shopping stops and organize the meal plan of the boat if needed. I am also used to and feel pretty confident dealing with the unpredictable.

Recommendations

0 Recommendations received for this member

PIV

Private

female
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment

0 Recommendations provided by this member