findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 2,656 times
  since Oct 2022
  last sign in 8 hours ago
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Crew profile to see the % match or to contact this Boat member.
Owner & Captain/Skipper - always or often aboard
SY - Sailing Yacht, 11.6 m (38 ft), sail, catamaran, Wharram Tiki 38
Recommendations 1 received, 1 provided
usually replies within 1 hour

Availability after the 1 Dec 2024

Embark (Boarding)
preferably embarking anytime after the 1 Dec 2024
Duration
preferably for at least 4 weeks and for less than 1.4 months
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 Boarding location
Philippines - Central Visayas - visible to Crew members only
your specified boarding area is ? within this vessel's boarding location
and the Crew can come from anywhere to board the vessel
your current location is around ? away from this location
 Destination planned to take the vessel next
Philippines - same as boarding location
 My current location where I'm in person
Austria - Vorarlberg - visible to Crew members only
 Home Port (unregistered vessel)
Germany - Baden-Württemberg - visible to Premium Crew

Vessel

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages spoken aboard
native German
fluent English
elementary French
learning Italian
Vessel type, make and model
SY Sailing Yacht, Wharram Tiki 38
Vessel year
2019 built, and most recent major refit completed in 2024
Vessel main propulsion
sail
Vessel hull type
catamaran
Vessel length
11.6 metres (38 ft)
Vessel weight (displacement)
3 tonnes (6,615 lb)
Crew & guests aboard
usually 2 people aboard
Journey
cruising

Crew

Team request
position preferably for individuals, but teams may apply
Nationality of crew
anyone
Gender of crew
preferably female crew, but male crew may apply
Age of crew
preferably between 25 to 65 years of age
Height of crew
any
Weight of crew
any

Lifestyle

Eating
Anyone and aboard any or no specific diet is fine
Drinking
Anyone and aboard any or no drinking is fine
Smoking
Only strict non-smokers and aboard there is strictly no smoking

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
preferably crew with at least 4.3 weeks spent at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
preferably crew with at least 500 nm logged

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions available
preferably for
 Crew   any experience
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

Traveling was a big portion of my professional life. I do like to see new places, connect with different cultures, eat unknown food etc…

Sailing means for me traveling powered by the wind… exploring the world from the waterside….

As a person I am calm, tolerant and respectful. I love good food and I love to cook, too. I am personally a “flexitarian” I respect vegetarian kitchen, but I am personally unexperienced in preparing vegan food… So if you are vegan - you are heartily welcome but you have to teach me….

In a nice company I like to to drink a bit but I do not like to be drunken or having drunken people on board. If crew on board does not want to drink and asks not to drink at all: this in no problem for me…

I am a fairly good swimmer, I like to snorkel, just had my first 4 days training in freediving and I am open for cycling if there are somewhere rental bike available. I also like Yoga and meditation. My level of sportiness is pretty above average… Other sports I do is Mountainbike and Racebike, Alpine Skiing and a bit of Climbing (Bouldering) and Golfing. After my first experience in freediving I am pretty amazed… therefore it would be perfect to get a freediving buddy on board.

Another lifetime topics of mine is photography. I am there on a semi-professional level. Whenever I needed photography in my professional life it was most likely that I did it on my own - including studio work…

One remark on the „romance“ topic… I do respect crew who share in their profile „no romance“…. For me having an interesting exchange with nice people is more important than romance…. On the long run it would be great to find a soulmate for the trip around the world..

Please note: I am in a relationship with a lovely lady and we do plan for longer sailing trips together... since I do not want to loose my existing contacts here I remain with the current status....

About the boat, the plans, and current crew

usually cleanhave a holidayshare experiencevisit remote placesseek adventurefulfill a dreamface challengeslive off the gridmulticultural

Upfront my actual plans when I will on the boat - and be able to welcome crew..

• The next trip to my boat is not defined yet
There should be 2 trips in 2024, one should be July/August for 3 weeks and the other one maybe October/November both for 4-6 weeks

• The first days will be in the boatyard to finish some projects… up to 2 weeks.. but hopefully much shorter
• helping hands are welcome...
• in the moment I am flexible with the exact timing so you can tell me your wishes…

The boat is a Tiki 38 build in the Philippines splashing water 2019.

Actually the boat is still getting some upgrades for more comfort and safety. Unfortunately some repair work is necessary, too But I do not want to sacrifice the Wharram lifestyle of minimalism.

The current location is a perfect spot for this kind of work but I do want to leave as soon as these upgrades are done. But I do plan some extended sails in the region…

It will remain here until Q2 2025 at least, Than I plan a trip to Japan before bringing here to the Mediterranien… depending on the Typhoon situation... Otherwise I will sail in the region having Coron, Raja Amat and/or Bali in mind... keeping Cebu/Danao City as "home base"

After some further upgrades in the Philippines the circumnavigation should continue including the great loop.

What is expected of the crew

clean & tidydiscreeteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfulskilledtrustworthyconfident swimmergood communicatortravel light (little luggage)eager to learn & workpoliteLGBTIQA+ respectfulpositive outlookopen mindedsense of humorcan pay own expensesready to partyenjoy cookingdon't mind cleaninggood with maintenancewill not bring a friendwill not bring a petharmony

I do have the necessary certifications for my vessel - but so far minimalistic. I do have > 1500 nm sailing experience, mostly in the Baltic Sea as well as inshore sail areas in Germany. It is planned to extend the certifications in the near future. Meanwhile I added close to 500nm in the Camotes Sea of the Philippines

I do have substantial navigation skills from my time serving in the military. Another topic is weather evaluation. I studied 2 Semesters of Climatology during my university times… My personal goal is to avoid dangerous weather conditions as much as possible. Luckily the sail area of the current location hs too interesting spots every 20-30nm - so perfect daysailing distances - and you should daysail there….

Therefore Crew with much more sailing experience is heartly welcome to join the adventure of sailing… maybe for the hole circumnavigation….

Generally spoken: i do want to do larger ocean crossings for circumnavigation - and I do not want to travel alone… therefore female crew is welcome - and for longer passages > 5-7 days I plan to be at least 3-4 people on board.

Recommendations

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
1
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment
1 respectful
1 optimistic
1 adaptable

15 days, 2023 Feb2023 Mar
visible to Free & Premium members only

17 days, 2023 Feb2023 Mar
visible to Free & Premium members only