findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

, male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 196 times
  since May 2024
  last sign in 8 Jun 2024
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Boat profile to see the % match or to contact this Crew member.
Recommendations 0 received, 0 provided
usually replies within 4 days

Availability ready now

Embark (Boarding)
ready now to embark anytime
Duration
for any duration
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 My current location where I'm in person
Japan - Mie - visible to Boat members only
your vessel's specified boarding location is around ? away from this location
 Boarding location
Indonesia - Bali - visible to Boat members only
and the Boat is preferably within 5,000 nm • 9,260 km • 5,754 mi
your vessel's boarding location is ? within this Crew member's boarding area
Destinations I'm interested in
anywhere
 Home location usual 'Place of residence'
Ireland - Cork - visible to Boat members only

Personal details

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages
speaks native English
competent Spanish
Nationality
Irish
Gender
male
Age
visible to Free & Premium members only
Civil Status
Single
Children
none
Height
185 cm / 6' 1"
Weight
65-70 kg / 143-154 lb

Countries

Countries I've resided in
Ireland
Countries I've visited
none

Lifestyle

Eating
I eat any available diet and I'm fine with any or no specific diet aboard
Drinking
I drink moderately and I'm fine with any or no drinking aboard
Smoking
I'm generally a non-smoker and I'm fine with any or no smoking aboard

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
spent at least 4.3 weeks at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
logged at least 1,000 nm at sea

Maritime Qualifications & Certificates

issued or renewed during 2022 & 2021
Issued or renewed
2022 Sep
Expiry
Unlimited (no expiry)
Accredited by
ISA (IE) Irish Sailing Association

Boat wanted

Journey
any, round the world, mile building or delivery
Vessel main propulsion
only sail
Vessel hull type
any
Vessel length
preferably over 9.1 metres (30 ft) in length
Crew & guests aboard
any

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions of interest
preferably for
 Competent Crew   some experience
 Crew   some experience
 Cook   some experience
 Delivery Crew   no experience
 Deckhand   no experience
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid
contribute
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew to pay an agreed share towards some expenses

Professional    paid positions, experience and/or qualifications are usually required

positions of interest
preferably for
 Crew   some experience
 Competent Crew   some experience
 Delivery Crew   no experience
 Deckhand   no experience
 Cook   some experience
paid
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew is looking for paid work

Team

Team status
Just me, I'm not bringing any crewmates

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

Hello!
I’m currently in Japan until mid to late June and after that I’m really interested to embark on an adventure on a boat! I`m very easy with the departure destination and I can fly out to meet you wherever you are. Sailing to, from or around Asia would be ideal for me but I`m very flexible and I’m just keen and exited to get on a boat, meet new people and see new places!

A little about myself, my interests and my plans

clean & tidycommitteddiligentdiscreeteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfulskilledtrustworthyconfident swimmerrarely/unlikely seasickgood listenergood communicatorno body piercingsno facial piercingsno tattoos at alltravel light (little luggage)eager to learn & workpoliteLGBTIQA+ respectfulpositive outlookopen mindedsense of humorcan pay own expensesavailable on my ownready to partyenjoy cookingdon't mind cleaninggood with maintenancecan follow ordersbuy my own boat one daylive on little moneylearn a language

As you’ve seen my name is Samson and I’m from Ireland. I grew up by the sea, so from a young age I’ve been exposed to boats and sailing. As a teenager I sailed a lot of dingy’s with friends and messed around for years in different boats. I also refurbished a little wooden Mirror sailing dingy during Covid and it hasn’t sunk yet! Apart from casual sailing, I have a powerboat license which I passed in 2022. I completed a 1 month RYA essential navigation and seamanship course in 2021 and I did a one week sail training course on the Brian Boru, a Cornish Fishing boat that has been converted to a sail training ship. I have also sailed for a month in total on a family friends 40 foot Oyster, exploring the different parts of the coastline of Ireland and I’ve sailed across the Irish Sea from Belfast to Wales and back to Cork on the same boat. I have a very good well rounded knowledge of sailing and boat handling, including winches, knots, sails, helming, watch keeping and more.
I’m a practical person and I love making things and working with my hands. I’ve built things with wood in the past such as skateboard ramps and as mentioned before I restored a wooden boat during Covid. I’m also familiar with fibreglass from fixing dinged and broken boats and surfboards. I have spent time stone carving (letter cutting and figurative sculpture) and am considering it as a possibility for my career, following in the tradition of my grandfather and uncle. I also love to cook and will give anything a go. I have a number of chefs in my family and from working with them, my interest in cooking and my recipe book has grown throughout the years. I love most music and listen often. I also love to surf and am eager for any opportunity to surf in different, interesting places. I`m travelling in Asia at the moment, and as mentioned previously, I’m currently in Japan for 3 months. I have been travelling and working intermittently throughout the past year, hiking and completing the langtang and gosekunda treks in Nepal. I`m a very flexible person and I accommodate different plans easily. I love to learn new things and am a fast learner, so throw as many new things at me as possible! Hopefully I`ll set sail with you soon!

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat

have a holidayshare experienceshare charter costsvisit remote placesseek adventurefulfill a dreamface challengesfinding myselfgain experiencelive off the gridsustainable traveltravel

Growing up I sailed a lot with my friends and family, mostly in smaller boats and dingys, but as I got older the smaller boats got bigger and my interest in longer passages grew. I have always had a great passion for boats, the sea and adventure. It’s been an interest of mine to sail around and explore different parts of the world by boat. The idea that you can travel to places in a more sustainable way, under sail also interests me a lot, as I love to travel but am conscious of the impact that traveling has on the environment and the world. I have especially had an interest in sailing across the Pacific, seeing the Polynesian Islands and also exploring the other numerous island chains. I love to meet new people and to share exciting experiences with friends and the different people I meet. I also surf and love anything to do with the ocean, so traveling to different places on the sea offers the opportunity to surf and discover new waves.

Recommendations

0 Recommendations received for this member

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment

0 Recommendations provided by this member