findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 1,484 times
  since Oct 2023
  last sign in 9 hours ago
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Crew profile to see the % match or to contact this Boat member.
Owner & Captain/Skipper - always or often aboard
SY - Sailing Yacht, 10.2 m (33 ft), sail, monohull, Parker 325
Recommendations 0 received, 0 provided
usually replies within 3 hours

Availability ready now

Embark (Boarding)
ready now to embark anytime
Duration
preferably for at least 2 months and for less than 3 months
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 Boarding location
Sweden - Stockholm - visible to Crew members only
your specified boarding area is ? within this vessel's boarding location
and the Crew is preferably within 1,000 nm • 1,852 km • 1,151 mi
your current location is around ? away from this location
 Destination planned to take the vessel next
United Kingdom - England - visible to Crew members only
this destination is around 1,538 km from the boarding location
 My current location where I'm in person
Sweden - Västerbotten - visible to Crew members only
 Home Port of Registry (registered vessel)
United Kingdom - England - visible to Premium Crew

Vessel

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages spoken aboard
native English
Vessel type, make and model
SY Sailing Yacht, Parker 325
Vessel year
1998 built, and most recent major refit completed in 2022
Vessel main propulsion
sail
Vessel hull type
monohull
Vessel length
10.2 metres (33 ft)
Vessel weight (displacement)
3.5 tonnes (7,806 lb)
Crew & guests aboard
usually 1 person aboard
Journey
cruising: Offshore, cruising: Coastal, passage or …other journey

Crew

Team request
position for individuals only
Nationality of crew
preferably any European Union EU/EEA/EFTA Nationals
Gender of crew
preferably female crew, but male crew may apply
Age of crew
preferably between 21 to 60 years of age
Height of crew
any
Weight of crew
any

Lifestyle

Eating
Preferably crew with an unrestricted diet and aboard an unrestricted diet is preferred
Drinking
Anyone and aboard any or no drinking is fine
Smoking
Anyone and aboard any or no smoking is fine

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
none required
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
none required

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions available
preferably for
 Crew   any experience
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid
contribute
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew to pay an agreed share towards some expenses

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

Profile last updated: 20/06/2024.

My current location - Sweden

My situation. Singlehanded 🙂⛵️⛵️⛵️

What I am seeking?

Any EU, British or British Commonwealth or American nationals.

Seeking one crewmember. Preferably female crew for friendship and companionship. I am not seeking romance, just crew and a good shipmate.

About me?

I am single, British and I live in Portsmouth, UK. Had a career in the Aerospace and Space Industry. I have two adult daughters 32 & 30 and both have left home.

Been sailing since I was young and have sailed yachts for more than 30 years. I am a qualified RYA Yachtmaster Offshore and probably have at least 45,000+ nm sailed.

I own a 10m / 33ft lift keel monohull yacht. She was purchased in 2004, she is well maintained and up to date. I have sailed her at least 27,000 nm since i purchased her.

I am an open person, kind, considerate and easy going. I have a good sense of humour and really enjoy the company of others.

About the boat, the plans, and current crew

fairly crampedusually cleancomfortablevery safeusually single handedlive on little moneyhave a holidayshare experiencevisit remote placesseek adventurefulfill a dreamface challengeslive off the grid

After decades of sailing, including racing, on the Solent and both sides of the English Channel, my dream has always been to do some duration sailing further afield. Between 2017 and 2021, I sailed mostly singlehanded into the Mediterranean Sea (roughly 13,000nm there and back) and reaching as far east as Turkey. I have also cruised / raced in the Caribbean (not on my boat though). I am now sailing in the Baltic Sea another dream.

Last year, 2023, I sailed singlehanded from Portsmouth into the Baltic via Netherlands and Germany. Then on through Denmark to Sweden. I sailed as far north as Stockholm and the Aland Islands, including Gotland before returning to Kalmar, Sweden to winter the boat. Very worthwhile as the Swedish coast is very beautiful. Despite inclement weather in 2023, i achieved all my objectives. A distance of approximately 1900nm.

This year, 2024, I have continued my Baltic journey. Kalmar, Oland Island, Gotland, Latvia, Estonia, Finland and nowvnorth into the Gulf of Bothnia near Vassa. Then south through Sweden & the Gota Canal to West Sweden and then home through the Kiel Canal. A distance of approximately 2800nm.

This is my outline passage plan, finer details of where we visit and for how long for will be jointly decided, as with all our sailing plans and what we would like to see along the way.

What is expected of the crew

clean & tidycommitteddiscreeteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfultrustworthyconfident swimmergood listenergood communicatortravel light (little luggage)eager to learn & workpolitepositive outlookopen mindedsense of humorcan pay own expensesenjoy cookingdon't mind cleaningcan follow orderswill not bring a bicyclewill not bring a friendwill not bring a petharmony

I am looking for one crewmember.

Preferably a female person, who's in good health, and crewing for a longer duration, ideally for the whole journey.

If you say 'any duration' in your profile, please clarify? However, I will assume you are availible for at least longer than 6 to 8 weeks. 🙂 I'm happy to consider any timeframe, but would preferably be seeking a settled crew for the duration.

If you are less experienced or still learning the ropes, please don't be put off! I am an experienced sailor and can sail singlehanded, so you will be able to learn at your own pace and I am very happy to assist with this!

Budget? Figures are an estimate. All depends what we decide to do and how much expensive shore time there is? My position is this is a shared low cost travel budget trip. I'm on a strict budget also and I will be seeking for us to be economic in what we do. This doesn't mean we can't afford to have some fun times though!!!!

Expenses will be similar to a shared campervan journey. We will share our day to day travel costs 50%/50% on food, diesel and berthing. Living on board for crew is free (and I solely pay to maintain my own yacht).

I do re-itterate, I am not seeking romance and this is genuinely a shared journey. Nothing more. However, I do prefer sailing with female crew if possible. It's a personal preference of mine, as I do feel females bring a different dynamic to the boat and I prefer this. You will have your own cabin and privacy.

Most important to me is to find and sail with someone where we can mutually get along, have established boundaries, are able to trust one another, can mutually interact well in english and work together sailing the boat. This way we can jointly enjoy the sailing adventure ahead.

I do have past experence with FindaCrew and generally it has been a very positive and happy experience.

I am genuine. I sincerely believe that commitment and honesty need to travel both ways for a happy and successful outcome. If you are cautious of single male skippers, for whatever reason, this journey is obviously not the right opportunity for you. Please reply with a decline message if I send you an "interested" message! I will respect this and will not disturb you again!

However, if you are interested I will be delighted to chat with you and very pleased to hear from you. Please get in touch and we can take things on from there. Non Premium Accounts cannot communicate here except via the traffic light system or unless one Account is Premium. If you are interested in joining me, please let me know. I will respond! Thank you.

Best Regards and thanks for reading this, Stuart

Recommendations

0 Recommendations received for this member

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment

0 Recommendations provided by this member