findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 191 times
  since Aug 2023
  last sign in 13 hours ago
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Crew profile to see the % match or to contact this Boat member.
Owner & Captain/Skipper - always or often aboard
SV - Sailing Vessel, 12.2 m (40 ft), sail, monohull, Saltram 40
Recommendations 0 received, 0 provided

Availability ready now

Embark (Boarding)
ready now and preferably embark before the 27 Jun 2024
Duration
for any duration
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 Boarding location
Malta - visible to Crew members only
your specified boarding area is ? within this vessel's boarding location
and the Crew is preferably within 1,000 nm • 1,852 km • 1,151 mi
your current location is around ? away from this location
 Destination planned to take the vessel next
flexible, to be decided
 My current location where I'm in person
Malta - same as boarding location
 Home Port of Registry (registered vessel)
United States - Maine - visible to Premium Crew

Vessel

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages spoken aboard
native English
competent German, Spanish
Vessel type, make and model
SV Sailing Vessel, Saltram 40
Vessel year
1996 built, and most recent major refit completed in 2023
Vessel main propulsion
sail
Vessel hull type
monohull
Vessel length
12.2 metres (40 ft)
Vessel weight (displacement)
14 tonnes (30,870 lb)
Crew & guests aboard
usually 2 people aboard
Journey
cruising: Offshore or cruising

Crew

Team request
position preferably for individuals, but teams may apply
Nationality of crew
anyone
Gender of crew
anyone
Age of crew
preferably between 25 to 65 years of age
Height of crew
preferably no taller than 185 cm / 6' 1"
Weight of crew
preferably weighs under 80 kg / 176 lb

Lifestyle

Eating
Anyone and aboard any or no specific diet is fine
Drinking
Anyone and aboard moderate drinking is allowed
Smoking
Only strict non-smokers and aboard there is strictly no smoking

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
preferably crew with at least 4 weeks spent at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
preferably crew with at least 500 nm logged

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions available
preferably for
 Crew   any experience
 Competent Crew   any experience
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

I am a young 76 and fit. My background has been professional photographer, event organizer, and more recently real estate sales on the coast of Maine. I have been wintering over in Tunisia and will soon head to Malta, Sicily, Croatia. Then on to Montenegro and Albania before heading into Greek waters. On the way to Turkiye.
I am recently retired and have considerable cruising experience in the past including a circumnavigation and later in western Med.

About the boat, the plans, and current crew

usually cleancomfortablevery safevessel is survey certifiedshare experienceseek adventurefulfill a dreamlearn a languagefind a soulmate/partnermulticultural

Looking for crew to Malta, Sicily, along the boot of Italy, then to Croatia. After that to Greece and Turkiye, returning to Tunisia next winter.
Any crew would be considered on a share food and expenses basis. The yacht is an exceptional custom cruising boat with one circumnavigation behind her and turns heads wherever she goes.

What is expected of the crew

clean & tidydiligenteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfulskilledtrustworthyrarely/unlikely seasickgood listenertravel light (little luggage)eager to learn & workpositive outlookopen mindedsense of humorcan pay own expensesenjoy cookingdon't mind cleaningcan follow orderswill not bring a bicyclewill not bring a petharmony

Cruising is supposed to be enjoyable so I prefer a relaxed life aboard. I have just spent the past month with an amazing young woman aboard who was more capable at everything than one could possibly hope for. We both made an effort to have fun and enjoy the sailing from the Azores to Portugal and on along the coast of Spain to Gibraltar before taking side trips to Morocco and Madrid. I love travel and am eager to see and experience the rest of the Med. I cruised in the Balearics and briefly in Sardinia many years ago before all the development so I know it will be something of a surprise today. I learned long ago that sharing the experience of travelling is far more enjoyable than doing it alone. I'm quite flexible and am usually up for just about anything. I speak native English and am quite comfortable in German and Spanish but would love to be better at French.

Recommendations

0 Recommendations received for this member

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment

0 Recommendations provided by this member