findacrew.net uses some Cookies to deliver an enhanced experience.   Accept all Cookies
PIV

Private

, male
Personal Identity Verified  
  viewed 1,188 times
  since Apr 2019
  last sign in 11 hours ago
?%
match
Please sign in or register a Boat profile to see the % match or to contact this Crew member.
Recommendations 0 received, 1 provided

Availability ready now

Embark (Boarding)
ready now to embark anytime
Duration
for any duration
Disembark
flexible, no specific date
Hey, you're not signed in! Sign in or Join

Locations

 My current location where I'm in person
New Zealand - Auckland - visible to Boat members only
your vessel's specified boarding location is around ? away from this location
 Boarding location
anywhere
your vessel's boarding location is ? within this Crew member's boarding area
Destinations I'm interested in
anywhere
 Home location usual 'Place of residence'
New Zealand - Auckland - visible to Boat members only

Personal details

L5   native
speaking natively like a local without a noticeable foreign accent
L4   fluent
speaking fluently with an extensive vocabulary, but with a foreign accent
L3   competent
speaking competently with a solid vocabulary on almost any topic
L2   elementary
speaking enough to get by, but may get lost in a conversation
L1   learning
not speaking the language, but learned enough to say simple sentences
L0   not proficient
may know a few words, but cannot form sentences or ask questions
Languages
speaks native English
competent Spanish
Nationality
British and New Zealander
Gender
male
Age
visible to Free & Premium members only
Civil Status
Partner
Children
2 children, both over 18 years of age
Height
177 cm / 5' 10"
Weight
80-85 kg / 176-187 lb

Countries

Countries I've resided in (11)
Antarctica Argentina Falkland Islands New Zealand Oman Papua New Guinea Qatar South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands United Arab Emirates United Kingdom Venezuela
Countries I've visited (53)
Angola Antarctica Argentina Aruba Australia Austria Bangladesh Belgium Bolivia Brazil Brunei Bulgaria Canada Chile Colombia Costa Rica Cyprus Ecuador Egypt Falkland Islands Fiji France Germany Greece Indonesia Ireland Italy Luxembourg Malawi Malaysia Netherlands New Zealand Nigeria Oman Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Portugal Qatar Singapore South Africa South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands Spain Switzerland Syria Thailand Tonga United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Venezuela

Lifestyle

Eating
I eat any available diet and I'm fine with any or no specific diet aboard
Drinking
I'm a strict non-drinker and I'm fine with any or no drinking aboard
Smoking
I'm a strict non-smoker and I prefer vessels with no smoking aboard

Experience

Coastal/Ocean sea time
spent at least 6 months at sea
Coastal/Ocean sea miles
logged at least 5,000 nm at sea

Maritime Qualifications & Certificates

Qualifications / Certifications
none

Boat wanted

Journey
any or cruising
Vessel main propulsion
preferably sail
Vessel hull type
any
Vessel length
preferably over 15 metres (49 ft) in length
Crew & guests aboard
any

Position

Recreational    generally unpaid positions, or contributing towards some agreed expenses

positions of interest
preferably for
 Competent Crew   experienced
unpaid
crew is not expecting to be paid
contribute
- visible to Free & Premium members only
crew to pay an agreed share towards some expenses

Team

Team status
Just me, I'm not bringing any crewmates

Dear Shipmates

Introduction

I attended a seamanship school in the UK and have a strong seamanship background.

I have sailed in Antarctic waters as crew while working in Antarctica.

I owned an 8m mono hull ketch for local UK coastal waters but did sail solo to the Algarve in Portugal (where I sold it).

I'm single (I avoided the relationship question - I'm human but sensible and trustworthy) with two daughters living in NZ.

I'm very much an outdoor person. Fit, healthy and active. I am fully retired.

Im the author of an Antarctica book. I can be very sociable but also appreciate time alone. I respect other peoples property and opinions. I have lived extensively overseas including 12 years in South America and three winters in Antarctica.

I'm an ex-teacher of mathematics and science. But for the past 20 years I have worked in the oil industry in Risk Engineering.

I recently sailed the Tasman with the yacht owner. And spent a few days coastal NZ sailing.

I often coastal sail eastern New Zealand.

I am a moderately fluent Spanish speaker.

A little about myself, my interests and my plans

clean & tidycommitteddiligentdiscreeteasy-goingenthusiasticfit & healthyfriendlyorganisedrespectfulskilledconfident swimmerrarely/unlikely seasickgood listenergood communicatorno facial piercingstravel light (little luggage)politeLGBTIQA+ respectfulpositive outlookopen mindedsense of humorcan pay own expensesavailable on my ownenjoy cookingdon't mind cleaninggood with maintenancecan follow ordersenjoy teachinglearn a language

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat

visit remote placesseek adventurefulfill a dreamface challengesgain experiencesustainable traveltravel

I think I said it all above. I am self supporting and have no need to seek payment for the experience. Regarding LGBTIQ I take things as they come. I have no political, racial or gender bias. Have spent four years in Antarctica I am well versed at coping in a confined environment. Reading my Antarctica book would give any yacht skipper a good understanding of my character!
I am skilled at radio operating; UHF, VHF and HF. I am/was fluent morse Code (22wpm) but little use for that now! I have experienced and well practiced in emergency response plans. I am a skilled and competent mountaineer. I am well versed in navigation skills.

My partner owns a 45ft Bavaria which we use for coastal New Zealand sailing. She is not interested in blue water sailing.

Recommendations

0 Recommendations received for this member

PIV

Private

male
Personal Identity Verified  
0
amazing & welcoming person
0
friendly & reliable person
0
nice & polite person
0
challenging person
0
no comment
15 days, 2019 Nov2019 Nov
visible to Free & Premium members only